Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
40

Story-time, Tree-time and Human-time

An excerpt from The Island of Missing Trees
40

Dear Readers,

I value the space that Substack provides for writers and poets, for all book-lovers and literature-lovers.

I like the fact that this platform is not based on a constant stream of anger-and-division-generating-condensed-messages like Twitter (X) or edited-and-polished-images-of-perfect-unreal-lives like Instagram. Here we can slow down, hold nuanced conversations, nurture multiple thoughts and ideas, carry out in-depth analyses.

We can aim for learning and knowledge, and hopefully wisdom, rather than snippets of information and morsels of misinformation.

We can have book discussions, literary readings.

For the first time since I arrived on this platform I tried recording a book video. Completely amateurish, as you can see. The title was supposed to be above the page and the video neatly tucked underneath, but I couldn’t manage to do it that way. It is a small miracle that I have managed to record it, in the first place!

Let me know if you enjoy these readings.

Words connect us beyond borders.

Silences keep us apart.

Stories bring us together.

Unmapped Storylands with Elif Shafak is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

40 Comments
Unmapped Storylands with Elif Shafak
Story Lands with Elif Shafak Podcast
My personal Substack
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Elif Shafak